Split Pea and Greens Soup (Instant Pot)

I love leftovers soup. There’s nothing more fun than picking through the bits and scraps leftover from previous meals and turning them into something tasty, filling, and hearty.

The recipe for the stovetop version is here.

Split Pea and Greens Soup.jpg

Serves 8

Ingredients
1 large onion, medium dice
2 stalks celery, medium dice
2 carrots, medium dice
250g mushrooms, sliced
5 cups green leafy vegetables, shredded (I used kale and sweetheart cabbage)
1/2 cup yellow split peas, sorted and rinsed
1/2 cup green split peas, sorted and rinsed
8 cups vegetable stock
1 tbsp Herbes de Provence
1/4 cup soy sauce, or to taste

Directions
1. Sweat the onion, celery and carrots for 10 minutes using the “Keep Warm” function, stirring occasionally. Alternatively, you can sauté over a low heat for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.
2. Add the rest of the ingredients, stir, and lock the lid on.
3. Set to manual high pressure for 12 minutes.
4. Release the pressure quickly, being very careful of frothing and spitting.
5. Stir, taste, season if necessary.

5 thoughts on “Split Pea and Greens Soup (Instant Pot)

  1. This looks so good. I’ve been sick for a week now and I bet this is just the sort of thing I need to help me fight off whatever ails me. Thanks for sharing!

    Regarding the veggie stock… Is it 2 cups? 21 oz? The recipe doesn’t state it clearly.

    Let you know what my family thinks of this once they try it 😀

    • Hi, Lyndsey! Thanks for your comment, and for pointing out the “2l” weirdness. It was actually 2 litres, but then I realised I’d measured everything else in cups, so I’ve changed it to “8 cups” now.

      I hope you feel well soon! Let me know if the soup does it for you. Throw in a couple of diced red bell peppers for some extra vitamin C. And get lots of rest, if you can!

  2. Pingback: Split Pea and Greens Soup (Stovetop) | Around the World on a Vegan Plate

Leave a Reply

